flo: A blue lightbulb, seen close up. (Lightbulb)
1. It snowed here in Texas, perfectly so, to the point where outside is still this perfect, winter wonderland type deal. Which would be lovely if it wasn't Texas, and didn't mean unreasonably icy roads and danger to life and limb from venturing forth. Luckily we had food on hand, and still have enough leftovers that we don't need to go out :P

2. Somehow, Fedex made it here yesterday (before the snow, thankfully for them) with the Gap delivery I wasn't at all expecting. My Ewa Michalak order, on the other hand, will probably not get here until we leave for Boston.

3. I'm finally giving longer (ish) hair a go, despite my fears that it'll all end in tangles, knots and tears. It's been so long since I used hair accessories of any kind that I felt kind of weird putting on a headband, but since I didn't buy one of those annoying too-tight ones, it was alright.

4. Picked up Mass Effect 1 & 2 on Steam yesterday, since they were going for crazy cheap. Now I own what, FIVE actual games?

5. I'm in the annoying position of having already determined my new year's resolution well before the new year is actually here. Worse, it's one I think I'm going to have to keep.
flo: A pink umbrella, upside down. (Umbrella)
- The other day, I powered through nearly all of Crimson Hero. This dazzling experience has summarily ruined nearly every manga I read after it, to the point that I'm avoiding them for the time being. (Except for Koi dano Ai dano. Conspiring!Kanoko = ♥.) I know Crimson Hero wasn't perfect, and that I'll probably read it in a month and be like WTF, but oh, those panels of Nobara mid-jump have run away with my heart.

- I played SWTOR last month, and then promptly renewed my WoW sub for three months. I really wanted to like SWTOR, but bugs, lack of endgame polish and annoying mid-to-late game mob difficulty kind of finished it for me. I got my legacy, levelled a couple alts for a little bit, and then realized I was seriously wondering if playing a Sith Sorcerer would get better once I'd picked up my super awesome AoE at level 34. Then I realized that if I wasn't having fun playing the game right then, I might as well stop.

It probably didn't help that I had a prepaid month or so left on WoW, and so could log in and gloat over my growing pile of gold while trying to decide whether to continue with SWTOR. And it definitely didn't help that the game fucked my new video card so badly that I had to give up windowing for vsync to keep things from overheating. Annoying travel times + the inability to alt-tab away just added to my frustration.

I'll probably give the game another try in a few months if they've improved everything, AND if Mists of Pandaria continues to be MIA. Otherwise, it's WoW all the way.

- There should be a third thing, but there ISN'T. :(. Maybe because I'm thinking of rereading Crimson Hero again right now...

What what

Nov. 5th, 2011 03:51 pm
flo: A pink umbrella, upside down. (Umbrella)
I just binge-read through the every bit of 7seeds that I could get my hands on, including [personal profile] torachan's handy summaries for vols 16-18. I am PUMPED. I am also full of spoilers!

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS )

I also hope the series doesn't suffer the same fate as Basara. I started that one a while ago, and the principal romance felt seriously out of place. The tone was weirdly uneven, swinging between seriousness and lightness way too often. It was also the first long manga series that I'd seriously read, so I think I had higher expectations for it than I should've, and I also wasn't used to manga tropes then. That said, I've read other series that manage to go from OTT ridiculousness to heartfelt scenes to silly fights and back again without annoying me (e.g. Gokusen (<3) and Ouran Koukou Host Bu (:D)), so I don't know.

In contrast, 7seeds keeps hitting me where it hurts. I LOVE how precisely all the little 'coincidences' come together. I love the desperation, the twisted timelines, the cruelty of chance, the resolve to live. I doubt it will stay this perfect until the end, but god, I'm so there for the ride.

That aside, I think I'm coming to the end of my manga binge-- I've been reading so much sugary shoujo that I'm a little sick of it currently. No idea what I'm going to try next, but you can bet that I'll be going through the 'related series' tags on 7seeds' mangaupdates page. Or maybe I'll do another reread of the Attolia books.
flo: A pink umbrella, upside down. (Umbrella)
- I have never had an earworm as viciously awesome as the Party Rock anthem. And the video... <3.

- Here's a silly video set to that song, because. EDIT: URGH, copyright fail, that video is looong gone. Ah well, have my fave Anya/Danny dance instead:
flo: A blue lightbulb, seen close up. (Lightbulb)

So Mr. Flo and I ran out of television to watch a while ago. All our shows were on hiatus, and everything that was on sucked. Worse, he was on holiday, and we wanted to sit around being lazy together! Whatever did we do?

Netflix, for the most part, with a dash of Hulu. We devoured all of Samurai Champloo and Fullmetal Alchemist (the first edition)-- neither of which we'd seen before-- and also went on a bit of an anime sampling rampage. We tried Mushi-shi (ugh), Death Note (meh), Hikaru no Go (no), Samurai 7 (eh), and Gurren Lagan (confusing). We made it into the second volume of Moribito before giving up because things were going so...fucking...slow. And I tried Fruits Basket (so-so) and Eden of the East (bleh) on my own.

I used to think I just went with the flow with my siblings when we borrowed and rented movies way back when. We saw mostly the ones that were popular at the time, generic action movies and so forth, and I guess I liked them more than I thought? Because when I look at my movie-watching history and compare it with what I've liked in anime as well, it's not exactly this trend of *deeply emotional and profound*. I've got some of that in there, i.e. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Band's Visit and so forth. But overall, I think I like lots of action.

And romance. Obviously. I went trawling through [personal profile] torachan's recs, and ZOMG Love Catalog! And Koukou Debut!!!!! I'm currently nearing the end of Kimi ni Todoke, and wondering if Hana Yori Dango is going to be on the same level-- it looks like it's one of those where the guy is a massive jerk, and I'm just so not there if that's the case.

Last word: 13 Samurai (h/t an ooold movie rec post I can't find by [personal profile] yeloson). SERIOUSLY.

The REAL last word: I completely forgot about the Hulu part of this-- Misfits! I can't wait for the next season to come out, even though I know they're probably going to flub the solution/explanation of Nikki's death. They better at least TRY to provide one, or I'm going to be pissed.

Profile

flo: A lovely, purple-shaded teapot. (Default)
flo

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

RSS

RSS Atom
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 12:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios
March 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 2013